Mamata critics from west Bengal get cabinet birth

New Delhi: Congress has sent out a clear signal of taking the ruling Trinamool Congress in West Bengal head on by making three leaders from the state as Union Ministers, two of them Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury and Deepa Dasmunshi are bitter critics of Mamata Banerjee.

are known detractors of Banerjee, who parted ways with the UPA government two months back after growing acrimony over a host of issues.

While 74-year old Khan Choudhury represents Maldaha Dakshin, the party’s stronghold for the last nearly four decades, Adhir Ranjan (56) and Dasmunshi (52) represent Berhampore and Raiganj constituencies.

“I am happy over the induction of all the three leaders into the government. They are most deserving,” AICC leader Shakeel Ahmed, who is in-charge of party affairs in West Bengal, told media.

He said that four names were discussed, including that of Pradip Bhattacharya indicating that he would continue as the WBPCC President.

Pranab Mukherjee, who has now become the President, was the lone Congress Minister from West Bengal at the Centre be moved to Rashtrapati Bhavan

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker