Four Candidates File Nomination for Manipur Assembly By-poll

For by-elections to Yaiskul assembly seat in Imphal east district of Manipur, four candidates including Congress candidate E Suraj have filed their nomination papers.

According to reports, E Suraj (Congress), Hanjabam Jaydev (independent), Soubam Rajen (Janata Dal Secular) and Aribam Jagadish (independent) have filed their nomination papers.

By-election to the Yaiskul assembly constituency was necessitated due to the death of Congress MLA E Kunjakeshore who was the father of Suraj would be held on December 19 next.

Counting of votes would be taken up on December 23.

The by-election results would be significant to assess the popularity of the present Congress-led Secular Progressive Front ministry of chief minister Ibobi Singh in the wake of killing of a youth by police commandos in an alleged encounter on July 23 at Imphal market complex and the consequent spate of agitations.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker