Centre Finalises List of Five Governors; Narayanan, Shivraj Patil Appointed

The Centre has finalized a list of five new governors for various states, with National Security Advisor MK Narayanan being appointed as Governor of West Benagal and former home minister Shivraj Patil that of Punjab, reported PTI.

PTI reported quoting highly placed sources that Shekhar Dutt, former defence secretary, is to be appointed Chhattisgarh governor from where ES L Narasinmhan moves to Andhra Pradesh.

Report said that senior Congress leader Mohsina Kidwai would be the new Governor of Jharkhand from where K Sankaranarayan is being shifted to Maharashtra.

Himachal Pradesh Governor Prabha Rau is being transferred to Rajasthan Raj Bhavan while senior Congress leader from Gujarat and former Union minister Urmilaben Patel will be new Himachal Pradesh governor, said report.

The names of Governors, which were cleared at a meeting between Congress President Sonia Gandhi and Prime Minister Manmohan Singh yesterday, have been forwarded to the Rashtrapati Bhavan by the home ministry.

The appointment of 75-year-old Narayanan, a former IB chief, creates a vacancy in the NSA’s post for which former foreign secretaries Shyam Saran and Shiv Shankar Menon are believed to be the front runners.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker