Karnataka Bypolls: JDS Wins Two, BJP One Seat

With BJP and JDS snatching one seat each from it, the Congress party is on the way to a drubbing in the assembly by-elections to five constituencies in Karnantaka.

Of the five seats, where polling took place on August 18, four was held by the Congress and one by the JDS.

So far results have been declared in three seats. Of them, the JDS won two, retaining its strong hold of Ramanagara and wrestling Chennapatna from Congress.

In Ramanagara, C M Lingappa of Congress was defeated by JDS candidate K Raju by a margin of 22,019 votes. While in Chennapatna, Congress candidate M C Ashwath emerged victorious defeating his nearest BJP rival and cine star C P Yogeshwar by a margin of 2,282 votes.

Yogeshwar, who had represented the constituency as the Congress MLA, had quit the party and unsuccessfully contested the Lok Sabha elections from Bangalore Rural as BJP nominee.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker