Regional (M.P & C.G)

Four-member Committee Formed to Implement Transport Policy

With a view to make road connectivity smoother, a four-member committee has been formed to implement the new transport policy endorsed by the state cabinet in December 2009, said reports citing officials.

The committee comprises of additional transport commissioner Gwalior as its chairperson and regional transport officers of Bhopal, Indore and Jabalpur as members, reported IANS.

The report said citing unnamed officials that the committee would prepare drafts of directives for successful implementation of the transport policy and submit its reports to the government within a month.

Under the policy, district transport authorities will be formed on the lines of state transport authority and regional transport authority, meaning that a committee headed by district collector will be empowered to issue permits and determine routes in the district as per local requirements.

Also, the permit terms and conditions will have an age limit of 10 years for inter-state routes passenger buses and that of 15 years for intra-state routes buses, said report.

Report said that bus fares would be determined annually to help protect passengers’ rights and ensure smooth conduct of transport services.

Also, under the new transport policy arrangement of buses will be made for all the regions and effective control will be exercised on goods transport also, the report said.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker