LatestRegional (M.P & C.G)

ECI prescribes timings of polling for Lok Sabha election

Bhopal: Election Commission has prescribed timings for Lok Sabha election polling and for Vidhan Sabha elections in Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha and Sikkim and some Vidhan Sabha by-elections. The time prescribed by the commission under section 56 of the Public Representation Act, 1951 will not be less than 8 hours. In view of summer when sun rises early and sets late, the commission has prescribed polling time from 7 am to 6 pm for general Lok Sabha constituencies. Whereas timing for polling in North-eastern state has been prescribed from 7 am to 5 pm.

Polling will be held from 7 am to 4 pm in Manipur and Nagaland. In some other areas also polling will be held from 7 am to 4 pm in view of security. Notification for polling timings for all 543 Lok Sabha constituencies has been uploaded on commission’s website The commission has directed CEOs of all states to widely publicise timings of polling.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker