Regional (M.P & C.G)

Cong Throws Surprise Results in MP, too

Bhopal: The surprise gain for the ruling UPA and the Congress seen across the country was seen in Madhay Pradesh, too, with 12 out 29 parliamentary seats likely to go to its booty. The ruling BJP is likely to end up with 16 seats.

According to election results declared by 4 pm in the state, Congress won seven seats and was leading in five more. In the last general elections, the party could merely win four seats in the state. As for BJP, it too had won 7 seats and was leading in 9. BSP has not won any seat and was leading on one.

Attributing the party’s success to the hard work by party workers, MPCC president Suresh Pachouri said that people of the state who were fed up with the BJP misrule have re-imposed their faith in Rahul Gandhi and Sonia Gandhi.

While reacting to the surprising trend, CM Shivraj Singh Chauhan said that the trends were not as per party’s expectations and the reasons behind it would be analyzed after the results are out.

Prominent Congress winners included central minister Kamal Nath who won for the eighth time from Chhindwara; Narain Singh who trounced Laxman Singh (BJP), brother of Congress general secretary Digvijay Singh; Meenakshi Natrajan who defeated veteran BJP leader Laxmi Narain Pande (eight time sitting MP from Mandsaur); Kantilal Bhuria who defeated BJP stalwart Dilip Singh Bhuria from Dhar-Jhabua; Premchand Guddu who defeated former union minister Satyanarain Jatia of the BJP; Gajendra Singh from Dhar and Arun Yadav from Khandwa.

Eminent BJP leaders who won are Kailash Joshi, Yashodhararaje Scindia and Sumitra Mahajan and Jyoti Dhurve. Besides, Sushma Swaraj victory seems clear.

BSP Devraj Singh Patel was leading in Rewa.

Reacting to the surprising poll results and trends, a local poll analyst said that no one had expected such a spectacular performance from the Congress given the fact that it was badly trounced in the state assembly elections held six months ago and that at the same time it was not expected to cross its previous tally of four given the infighting in the state Congress.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker