Regional (M.P & C.G)

BJP Wins 10 out 11 Seats in Chh’garh

The BJP, though not doing well nationwide, has maintained and enhanced its vote share of last year’s assembly election in Chhattisgarh, wining 10 out of 11 parliamentary constituencies.

Of these 11 seats, only newly created Korba constituency went to the Congress, with the party’s state working president Charandas Mahant stunning BJP’s Karuna Shukla, niece of former prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

The BJP won all the four seats reserved for the Scheduled Tribe candidates – Bastar, Kanker, Raigarh and Surguja – besides Janjgir, the lone seat reserved for the Scheduled Castes. It also won in Durg, Rajnandgaon, Mahasamund, Raipur and Bilaspur.

Attributing the victory to the Chhattisgarh Chief Minister, BJP state unit chief Vishnudeo Sai, who won Raigarh seat, said: “The clean sweep in the state was predicted. All credit goes to Raman Singh, his clean image and concerted effort to bring development to the state.”

In the Congress, the poll results can be termed most shocking for the first chief minister of the state Ajit Jogi as not only did his wife Renu Jogi lost to former central minister and BJP leader Dilip Singh Judeo from Bilaspur but also four of his supporters, for whose nomination he lobbied hard, lost the polls by huge margins.

“Though good news is coming in from Delhi that we are set to return to power but the outcome in the state is clearly shocking for the Congress. We never thought of getting just one seat. The state leaders will sit together soon to analyse the reasons for stunning defeat,” Congress state general secretary Ramesh Varlyani said.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker