Trinamool-Cong Combine Wins 5, leading in 3 Assembly Seats in WB Bye-polls

In assembly by polls held in 10 constituencies in West Bengal, Trinamool Congress-Congress combine has won five, with ruling CPM biting the dust again following its drubbing in Lok Sabha elections.

According to reports, the combine has maintained a lead in three assembly segments.

While the Left Front, which had fielded candidates in all the 10 seats, was leading in only Goalpokhar constituency. In Kalchini constituency in Jalpaiguri district, the Gorkha Janmukti Morcha (GJM) supported Independent Wilson Champamari wrested the seat from RSP, defeating Binoy Bhushan Karket by over 6,000 votes.

Of the five seats won by TC-Congress combine, TC candidates registered victory in Alipore, Bongaon, Serampore and Rajganj segements while Congress retained Sujapur seat.

CPI-M was trailing behind Trinamool candidate in the prestigious Belgachia East seat by over 10,000 votes after the fourth round of counting.

The seat had fallen vacant following the death of CPI(M) stalwart and former transport minister Subash Chakraborty, who had won from the seat for seven consecutive terms. The CPI(M) had fielded his widow Ramala Chakraborty from the seat.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker