Telangana Ministers Withdraw Resignations

All the 13 Congress ministers from Telangana region in Andhra Pradesh who had stepped down on separate statehood demand have withdrawn their resignation after central government announced to hold discussions with political parties in the state.

The ministers, who tendered resignations to the party president Sonia Gandhi a week ago demanding a time-bound plan for Telangana, said that they withdrew resignations on a request by AICC General Secretary Veerappa Moily and state Congress president D Srinivas.

“We hope that the decision to invite eight political parties for talks on January 5 is in favour of Telangana,” said Information Minister J Geeta Reddy.

Also, she thanked central government for ‘responding quickly’ to their demand. Later, the Telangana ministers called on Chief Minister K Rosaiah.

It may be mentioned that the move came a day after Union Home Minister P Chidambaram sent an invitation to leaders of 8 political parties of the state for a discussion in Delhi on January 5 on the Telangana statehood issue.

The ministers had resigned after Chidambaram’s announcement on December 23 putting the Telangana issue on hold and saying that the Centre would commence wide ranging discussions on the issue.

On December 9, he had announced that the procession of formation of separate Telangana state would be initiated. Earlier on Dec 9, he had announced that the process for Telangana state would be initiated, opening a Pandora ’s Box.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker