Soren Survives Trust Vote

The newly formed Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM)-Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) alliance Thursday emerged victorious in an assembly trust vote with 45 legislators exercising favour for the government led by chief minister Shibu Soren.

Soren, who heads the JMM, became the seventh chief minister o0f the state Dec 30, He was asked by Governor K. Sankaranarayanan to prove his government’s majority on the floor of the house by Jan 8.

While all five RJD lawmakers abstained from voting, Enos Ekka of Jharkhand Party, Independent Harinarayan Rai, Gopal Nath Sahadeo of the Congress and Arup Chatterjee of the Marxist Coordination Committee were absent.

Besides the 18-member JMM , Soren found support from NDA-20, AJSU-5 and one each from Jharkhand Janadhikar Manch and Rashtriya Kalyan Paksh, apart from an independent lawmaker – Bidesh Singh.

(Based on media reports)

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker