Shibu Soren Takes Oath as Jharkhand CM for Third Time

JMM chief Shibu Soren has been sworn-in as the seventh chief minister of Jharkhand. With this, the eleven month president’s rule in the state draws to a close.

Soren, who has become chief minister of the state for the third time, took oath of office and secrecy along with BJP and AJSU presidents Raghubar Das and Sudesh Mahto. The oath was administered by Jharkhand governor K Sankaranarayanan.

The oath-taking ceremony held at Morabadi ground of Ranchi was attended by thousands of workers of JMM, BJP and AJSU. Prominent guests present on the occasion include Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Raman Singh, Uttarakhand Chief Minister Ramesh Pokhriyanal Nisak, former Jharkhand chief minister and Jharkhand Vikas Morcha-Prajantantrik (JVM-P) president Babulal Marandi.

After winning vote of confidence, Soren will expand his cabinet. Governor Sankaranarayanan has given him a deadline till January 8 to prove his majority on the floor of the House.

On December 26, Soren had staked claim to form the government with support from the BJP, AJSU, JDU with a total of 43 legislators. Two independents have also extended their support to Soren taking the total to 45 in the 81-member assembly.

Jharkhand has been under president’s rule since Jan 19 as no one came forward to form the government after Soren had to resign from his chief minister’s post, having lost an assembly by-election.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker