Nine 1998 Blast Convicts Released

Nine persons, convicted for involvement in 1998 serial blasts in Coimbatore were released on Tuesday after the Tamil Nadu government commuted their sentences to mark the birth centenary celebrations of DMK founder CN Annadurai.

The convicts, members of proscribed Al-Umma, were sentenced to 13 years in prison for triggering explosions to coincide with the visit of senior BJP leader LK Advani back in 1998, 58 people were killed in the blasts.

Though, the state government ordered the release of ten convicts, who have completed ten years in jail, only nine — Mohammed Ibrahim, Abdul Rahim, Abdul Faooq, Abbas, Mohammed Rafeek, Abdul Raub, Ashraff, Bakruddin Ali Ahmed and Shahul Hameed — were released on Tuesday.

Shahjahan, the tenth convict, was not released as he is facing trial in other cases, said media reports citing authorities in the TN government.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker