New Sikkim Government Take Oath

The new Sikkim government of chief minister Pawan Chamling’s Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) was sworn in by Governor BP Singh on Wednesday. 

In the new cabinet, there are quite a few fresh faces. In addition, 2 women also find place in the 12 member cabinet. It is for the first time that women have been made cabinet ministers in the state. The women making this achievement are Neeru Sewa and Tilu Gurung.

The new 12-member cabinet, sworn in at the Raj Bhawan here, has nine new faces. These include Bhim Dhungel, CB Karki, RB Subba, NK Pradhan, former speaker of the Sikkim Assembly DN Thakarpa and Sonam Gyatso Lepcha.

Those who have been ministers in the past are TT Bhutia, SDF candidate from Kabi-Tingda constituency, DB Thapa, candidate from Upper Tadong, and Chamling himself.

However, the portfolios were not announced at the swearing-in ceremony.

The SDF wrested all 32 assembly constituencies as well as the lone Lok Sabha seat from the state in the just-concluded polls.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker