Left, Other Non-BJP Opposition Parties Call for Nation-wide Strike

Protesting Centre’s decision to hike petroleum prices, Left and non-BJP opposition parties have given a call for 12-hour nation wide strike, said media reports.

A joint statement by top leaders of CPM, CPI, RSP and Forward Bloc said that besides these four left parties, the AIADMK, TDP, Samajwadi Party, BJD, JDS and INLD ‘have decided to call for a country-wide hartal on July five’, reports said.

“On top of the food inflation at nearly 17 per cent and the general inflation rate in double digit, the Congress- led government has callously raised the fuel prices making the burden on the people unbearable,” the statement signed by Prakash Karat (CPM), AB Bardhan (CPI), Debabrata Biswas (Forward Bloc) and T J Chandrachoodan (RSP) said.

(Based on internet reports)

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker