Lapang Sworn in Meghalaya CM

Donwa Dethwelson Lapang was sworn-in chief minister of Meghalaya, for the fifth time, along with six ministers. Governor RS Mooshahary administered the oath of office and secrecy on Wednesday.

Lapang, at the helm of the new Meghalaya United Alliance, comprising of Congress and the regional United Democratic Party (UDP), has 15 days to prove majority in the House.

The alliance comprises of 37 MLAs including  26 from the Congress, nine from UDP and two Independents — in the 60-member house, with an effective strength of 55 following resignation of one UDP MLA and the recent disqualification of four others by the speaker.

Congress lawmaker Mukul Sangma was sworn in Lapang’s deputy, while two other Congress leaders – RC Laoo and MM Dangoo – were sworn in as ministers.

The others to earn ministerial berths include an independent and two UDP lawmakers.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker