JMM Emerging as Vital Player in Jharkhand, Wants Shibu Soren as CM

In Jharkhand assembly elections, Congress-JVM(P) has bagged 10 assembly seats with lead in 20 other segments, while BJP-JDU combine has won 7 and is ahead in 17 as the latest trends confirm that the state is headed for a hung assembly. In the meanwhile, JMM, which is emerging as a vital player, said that it will support any coalition that makes its leader Shibu Soren the chief minister.

The JMM won 9 seats and was ahead in as many, while JVM(P) and AJSU, both regional parties, got 4 and 3 seats respectively in the 81-member House. Congress won 6 seats on its own while BJP 12.

Lalu Prasad’s RJD got 2 seats while another regional party JBSP won in one assembly constituency. Others including an independent triumphed in 6 segments.

“Our party’s stand is whoever will support Guruji (Shibu Soren) for chief ministership, will get our support,” JMM’s Central Committee Secretary, Supriyo Bhattacharya was quoted as saying by PTI.

RJD chief Lalu Prasad said in Patna, “The results are a victory for secular forces. We will explore the formation of a secular government in Jharkhand.”

In response to a query if he was in touch with Congress leaders including Sonia Gandhi, he said, “Let the final picture of the results emerge first, then only top leaders should discuss.”

He suggested that the leaders of secular alliances – Congress-JVM(P), RJD-LJP and JMM – should sit together and explore installation of a secular government.

“I am content that the communal forces represented by BJP have been wiped out with the people rejecting both BJP and JD(U),” he said.

In the meanwhile, Babulal Marandi, JVM(P) president, called for support to the alliance between his party and the Congress, expressing confidence to form the next government in the state.

“All well-wishers should support our alliance,” Marandi said, adding that his party had fought with the Congress and would stand by it.

Among the first results announced was the victory of Geeta Koda, wife of former chief minster Madhu Koda, from Jagannathpur. She defeated her nearest rival Sonaram Birua of BJP by over 20,000 votes.

Geeta was the candidate of the Jai Bharat Samanta Party (JBSP) floated by her husband.

While Congress-JVM(P) alliance won from Daltonganj, Sisai, Bermo and Icchagarh, Speaker Alamgir Alam of Congress lost from Pakur to Akuil Akhtar of JMM by 5,714 votes.

The BJP-JDU won from Kharsawan, Gumla, Simdega, Manika, Ranchi, Chatarpur and Tamar and was leading in 17 seats. A prominent winner of the alliance was C P Singh from Ranchi.

JMM won seven seats – Chaibasa, Sikaripara, Sareikela, Torpa, Jama, Pakur and Dumri. Sita Soren, widow of Durga Soren, the late eldest son of party chief Shibu Soren won the Jama seat.

Senior JMM leader and former deputy chief minister Sudhir Mahto, however, lost the Icchagarh seat to the JVM(P).

Former minister Enos Ekka of the Jharkhand Party Ekka, now in judicial custody in a disproportionate assets case, retained his Kolebira seat.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker