Cong-RJD Over, Lalu Releases List of LS Candidates

Releasing its list of 26 candidates for the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections in New Delhi on Monday the Rashtriya Janada Dal (RJD) says it will contest 28 out of 40 seats in Bihar as per the party agreement with Ram Vilas Paswan led Lok Jan Shakti Party (LJP).

“We will now contest in 28 out of 40 seats in Bihar as per our seat sharing pact with the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP). We will work to defeat communal forces,” Lalu Prasad told reporters.

The announcement marks the end of the Congress-RJD relationship which after a strong alliance through the UPA term since 2004 recently hit rough weather over sharing of seats between the partners.

As per the list RJD chief Lalu Prasad will contest two parliamentary segments – Patliputra and Saran while the party is yet to declare candidates for two constituencies.

According to the seat-sharing arrangement, RJD will contest 28 and the LJP 12 of Bihar’s 40 seats.

The Congress says it will contest 37 seats in Bihar and its list of parliamentary hopefuls is likely to comprise of several RJD rebels including brother-in-law of the RJD chief Sadhu Yadav who left the party soon after the party inked a seat sharing deal with the LJP blaming Lalu of “kneeling down” to Paswan pressure.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker