Cong Retains All Three Assembly Seats in Kerala By-elections

Congress headed UDF has retained all three assembly seats in Kerala where by polls were conducted, routing the ruling CPM –led LDF.

In politically sensitive Kannur, the LDF had to suffer the biggest blow, where Congress candidate and former CPM MP AP Abdullakutty won by margin of 12,000 votes over CMP’s MV Jayarajan.

It may be mentioned that Abdullakutty, who was twice elected for Lok Sabha on a CPM ticket, was removed from the party a few months ago due to serious differences with the CPM leadership after which he jointed the Congress.

Congress candidates Dominic Presentation defeated CPI-M’s P N Sinulal in Ernakulam by over 8000 votes, while his colleague A A Shukur retained Alappuzha seat by defeating G Krishaparasad of CPI by 4000 votes.

The three seats fell vacant requiring by-elections following resignation of sitting Congress MLAs K Sudhakaran (Kumar), KV Thomas (Ernakulam), and KC Venugopal (Alappuzha) afte getting elected to Lok Sabha.

The results showed that UDF had been able to consolidate its Lok Sabha performance of lifting 16 of the 20 seats in the state.The current round of elections were seen as a dress rehearsal for the 2011 assembly polls to be preceded by the civic elections next year.

Despite its best efforts and high voltage campaign, the LDF failed to reverse the rout it faced in Parliamentary polls.

Congress wins one, leads another in Assam

Congress candidate Bimananda Tanti defeated his AGP rival Sivacharan Sahu by 21029 votes in Dhekiajuli Assembly constituency of Assam.

Congress candidate is also leading in south Salmara seat over his AUDF rival by over 4,000 votes. Bypolls were held for both the seats on November 7.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker