Bye-Polls for 20 Assembly Seats Today

Elaborate arrangements are in place for the peaceful conduct of bye-elections in 20 Assembly constituencies, spanning six states and Delhi, scheduled to be held on Thursday.

The segments set to witness poll activity this morning include seven each in Gujarat and Bihar, two in Madhya Pradesh and one each in Uttarakhand, Sikkim and Delhi.

In Gujarat, bye-elections are to be held in Chotila, Jasdan, Dhoraji, Kodinar, Dahegam, Sami and Data constituencies.

In Bihar, bye-elections will be held for the assembly seats of Bochaha, Warisnagar and Chenari (all Scheduled Castes), and Aurai, Kalyanpur, Ramgarh, and Chainpur.

Notably, the Congress is contesting the Bihar by-polls on its own, while the BJP and the Janata Dal-United (JD-U) are part of the ruling alliance in the state.

In Madhya Pradesh, the ruling BJP and the Congress are all set for a nail biting finish in bye-elections scheduled for Gohad and Tendukheda constituencies.

In Andhra Pradesh, Tekkali constituency goes to polls, while voters will key in preferences in Namchi Singithong (Sikkim) and Vikasnagar (Uttarakhand).

In the national capital – Delhi, the by-poll will be held for the Dwarka seat that fell vacant after sitting Congress legislator — Mahabal Mishra — became an MP.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker