Bye Elections: Over 55 pc Polling Recorded

Over 55% voting was recorded in the 20 assembly segments, spanning seven states that witnessed bye-elections on Thursday. The electioneering passed off peacefully except for boycotts at a few places in Bihar.

In what is being viewed as a major test for political honours since the Congress swept the Lok Sabha elections earlier this year, political outfits were vying for seven assembly constituencies each in Bihar and Gujarat, two seats in Madhya Pradesh and one each in Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim, Uttarakhand and Delhi.

The highest turnout – 76% — was recorded for Tekkali seat in Andhra Pradesh, some 67% voters keyed in their preference for the Namchi Singithong assembly segment in Sikkim.

62% voting was recorded in Gujarat, where the ruling BJP are firm favorites.

In Bihar, Chainpur recorded a turnout of around 51% followed by 49% in Ramgarh, 45 in Kalyanpur, 44 in Warisnagar and 40% in Chanari. Naxal-hit Aurai had the lowest turnout of 31%.

Poll boycott was reported from at least seven polling stations in Aurai, Ramgarh and Chenari.

Nearly 55% polling was recorded in Vikasnagar assembly by-election in Uttarakhand, while there was 47% polling in Delhi’s Dwarka constituency.

Closer home in Madhya Pradesh, nearly 50-55% polling was recorded in Gohad reserve seat (in Bhind district) while 35-40% voters cast their franchise in the Tendukheda assembly segment (Narsinghpur).

Counting of votes is scheduled for September 14.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker