BSP to Contest All LS, Assembly Seats in Orissa

Continuing to unleash immense pressures on established national political parties, Bahujan Samaj Party on Monday said the party will independently contest all parliamentary and legislative segments in Orissa.

Announcing the decision in Bhubaneswar, state party unit co-ordinator, Siddharth Patil, said, the BSP will field candidates in all 21 Lok Sabha and 147 assembly seats in the forthcoming twin elections in the state.

Though, the BSP has registered steady growth in its vote share in the state since 2000 but it is yet to account for a win in the state.

In its maiden foray in the state in 2000 the BSP polled 1.15 per cent of votes in the 105 assembly constituencies it contested, the graph climbed steeper in 2004 when the party ended with a tally of 1.93 per cent votes in 86 segments it fought.

Party president and Uttar Pradesh chief minister, Mayawati, is expected to announce names of party candidates at a public meeting on March 24, informed Patil.

With her sights set high, Mayawati is likely to go all out for a victory in Orissa where her repeated forays have failed to translate her support base amongst dalits and tribals into a victory for her party.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker