Ahluwalia Resigns with Colleagues

Planning Commission deputy chairman Montek Singh Ahluwalia along with other members of the commission submitted his resignation to Prime Minister Manmohan Singh.

“We have just handed over our resignations,” Ahluwalia told media persons at the Yojana Bhawan here.

It should be mentioned that Members of the Planning Commission include Abhijit Sen, Kirit Parikh, Anwar-ul Hoda, VL.Chopra, B Mungekar, Syeda Hameed, BN Yugandhar and BK Chaturvedi.

The Planning Commission members, who are appointed by the Prime Minister, resign after completion of the term of the government as per established convention.

The next government, after it takes oath of the office, will reconstitute the Commission and there is a possibility that the government might re-appoint some of the members.

Describing the outcome of elections for the 15th Lok Sabha as “very good”, Ahluwalia said that he would not like to make any comments as he was quitting the Commission on completion of the five-year tenure of the present government.

Ahluwalia, who is also being talked about as the next Finance Minister, played a key role in formulation of economic policies of the country and also the government’s response to the global financial meltdown.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker