76 Rajya Sabha MPs Seek Dinakaran’s Impeachment

Nearly 76 Rajya Sabha MPs have sought impeachment proceedings against Karnataka Chief Justice PD Dinkaran, accused of land grabbing.

Parliamentarians belonging to almost all opposition parties as BJP, Left parties, SP, JD (U), Akali Dal and AIADMK submitted the petition to Rajya Sabha Chairman Hamid Ansari seeking the impeachment of Justice Dinakaran.

Speaking to media persons, CPM leader Sitaram Yechury said that MPs moved petition exercising their Constitutional right as there was a ‘strong case’ against Justice Dinakaran. The government had already returned the recommendation of the Supreme Court Collegium for Justice Dinakaran’s elevation to the apex court.

Leader of Opposition in the Upper House, Arun Jaitley said that Justice Dinakaran should not continue. If the motion is admitted, a three-member committee comprising a Supreme Court judge, a high court chief justice and a jurist would be set up to go into the issue, he said.

In response to a question whether Congress MP also signed the petition, he said that if the Congress members wanted to join, they are welcome.

SP general secretary Amar Singh asked how could a chief justice of a high court function if he is not eligible to become a Supreme Court judge. Justice Dinakaran’s elevation to the Supreme Court has been put on hold following allegations of land grabbing.

Top jurists like F S Nariman have objected to his elevation accusing him of judicial impropriety.

Asked about the stand of the government on the impeachment petition of Justice Dinakaran, Union Law Minister M Veerappa Moily said, “I have not seen the petition.”

Refusing to take any stand, Moily said, “We do not discuss matters pertaining to the appointments in the higher judiciary.”

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker