Uttarakhand crisis: Harish Rawat appears to have clinched numbers in floor test

Dehradun: Sacked Chief Minister Harish Rawat today appeared to have clinched the numbers in the floor test in the Uttarakhand Assembly with 33 of the 61 MLAs said to have voted for him.
With nine disqualified Congress MLAs kept away, Congress MLA Rita Arya claimed that 33 MLAs voted for Rawat while BJP MLAs conceded that their side got only 28 in a House with an effective strength of 61.

“The cloud of uncertainty hovering over Uttarakhand will disappear tomorrow,” an elated Rawat said after the voting in assembly.

Under the Supreme Court-monitored proceedings, the result of the vote will be given to the court tomorrow morning in a sealed envelope.

Both sides claimed that one MLA from each side had cross voted. Independent MLA Harish Chandra Durgapal claimed that all six PDF (two BSP, 1 UKD and three Independents) members have voted for Rawat. BJP’s Bhimlal Arya’s vote also went to Congress. Likewise, Rekha Arya of Congress voted for the rival side, he said.

Ganesh Joshi of BJP claimed that it was a victory for BJP constitutionally because nine MLAs of Congress had voted for the BJP in the past and now one more MLA has voted for BJP.

Everyone saw how Congress tried to buy votes with money and “that is why we were left behind in numbers in the Assembly,” he said.

Principal Secretary (Legislative Assembly and Parliamentary Affairs) of Uttarakhand government oversaw the conduct of the floor test for which President’s Rule was kept in abeyance for two-and-a-half hours from 10:30 am.

Uttarakhand Assembly was out of bounded for the media and all legislators and officials have been barred from carrying mobile phones to the House during the crucial floor test.

No vehicles will be allowed to enter the assembly premises and all MLAs, including the Speaker, will have to walk down to the House from the main gate.

All directions of the Supreme Court for keeping the exercise of trust vote peaceful and secure have been followed.

No MLA, official or worker allowed to bring their cellphones to the Assembly and entry of media-persons has also been completely prohibited during the process.

Earlier, the Supreme Court yesterday clarified that the voting during tomorrow’s floor test in Uttarakhand Assembly on the trust vote motion moved by sacked Chief Minister Harish Rawat will be overseen by Principal Secretary (Legislative Assembly and Parliamentary Affairs) in the state.

Show More

Related Articles


Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker