Six Gulf countries working to unify their military

New Delhi: Six Gulf countries Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, the United Arab Emirates, Oman and Qatar are working together to unify their military under single command structure. The six nations under Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) took the decision at the end of their summit.
The decision is taken in response to heightened tensions with Iran.
The plan to unify the military was under consideration for the past one year.
Iran has friendly relations with Shiite majority Bahrain, which is ruled by Sunnis. The GCC is concerned that Iran might meddle in Bahrain’s internal affairs.
In March 2011, the GCC sent forces to Bahrain to help the government put down a Shiite Muslim uprising.

Comments are Closed