Raghuvar Das to be the next chief minister of Jharkhand

Ranchi: The BJP on Friday broke from tradition and chose Raghuvar Das, the first non-tribal, to be the new chief minister of Jharkhand in 14 years since it was carved out of Bihar.

The new government, possibly a coalition, will take oath of office on Sunday.  With 37 seats, the BJP in coalition with ally AJSU (5 seats) could form a stable government with the support of 42 MLAs in the 81 member Assembly.

Hours after his election by the BJP Legislature Party, Das, a Vice President of BJP, staked claim to form a government in the state that was notorious for political instability.

Accompanied by alliance partner AJSU party President Sudesh Mahto and winning MLAs, Das met Governor Syed Ahmed and staked claim to form the new government. The fact that former party chief minister  Arjun Munda, a tribal, lost the election helped Das’ case greatly.

“We met the governor and staked claim. We suggested to him that we want to take oath at 11 am on December 28, and the Governor agreed to it,” Das said after meeting Ahmed.

“We will give good and corruption-free governance and development will pick up. We will also work for the 93 per cent people in the unorganised sector, Scheduled Tribes and Scheduled Castes and the poor,” said the 60-year-old Chief Minister-elect with trade union background.

Earlier in the day, central observers J P Nadda and Vinay Sahasrabuddhe attended the BJP LP meeting, in which Munda was also present.

“The BJP’s legislature party elected Raghuvar Das as its leader. Saryu Roy and C P Singh proposed his name, and supported by all,” Nadda told reporters.

Das staked claim to form the new government in Jharkhand, three days after the BJP-AJSU party alliance won a majority in the assembly election.

Accompanied by several MLAs of the alliance partners, Das met with Governor Syed Ahmed and staked claim to form the next government.

AJSU party chief Sudesh Mahto, who lost the elections, was also part of the delegation.

“We met the Governor and staked claim to form the government. We suggested December 28 (for the swearing-in ceremony), and he agreed,” Das said after the meeting with the Governor.

BJP’s Saryu Roy, C P Singh and party’s state unit president Ravindra Rai were among the leaders who accompanied Das in the meeting.

This will be the tenth government in 14 years of Jharkhand’s creation. The state has witnessed three elections.

(Next News) »

Comments are Closed