Shah Rukh Khan-owned Trinbago Knight Riders win 3rd CPL title

Tarouba: Bollywood actor Shah Rukh Khan-owned Trinbago Knight Riders became the first back-to-back champions in the CPL, and the first three-time winners in the tournament’s history, after yet another Colin Munro half-century cemented an eight-wicket win over Guyana Amazon Warriors at Brian Lara Stadium.
TKR’s top-to-bottom depth was too much for the Amazon Warriors and ensured they remained runners-up for the fourth time. Ali Khan and Fawad Ahmed took a wicket each to get TKR off to a confident start after sending Amazon Warriors in at the toss before Khary Pierre slammed the door shut with a devastating three-wicket spell to set up an easy chase. Munro then clinched victory with his record-setting sixth fifty of the tournament, ending it as its leading run-scorer. His unbeaten 68 off 39 balls took him to 567 runs, 109 more than the previous best single-season tally.
In a rain-hit final, Dwayne Bravo won the toss and opted to bowl first. However, the Warriors never got going with Luke Ronchi top scoring with 44. Khary Pierre was phenomenal with the ball picking up three wickets which triggered a collapse as the Warriors went from 79/2 to 109/8. Romario Shepherd and Rayad Emrit then chipped in to take the scorecard to a respectable 147/9 in 20 overs. In reply, the Kiwi pair of Brendon McCullum and Colin Munro helped the Knight Riders get off to a flyer. While Baz smashed 39 off 24, Munro brought up his 50 from just 33 balls. It was the southpaw who hit the winning runs in the 18th over as the stadium erupted in wild celebrations. Colin Munro was also adjudged as the Man of the tournament as he scored more than 500 runs including six half-centuries.
Show More

Related Articles


Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker