LatestRegional (M.P & C.G)

Chitrakoot Assembly bypoll result: Congress’ Nilanshu Chaturvedi defeats BJP’s Shankar Dayal Tripathi by over 14,000 votes

Bhopal: In a morale-boosting victory for Madhya Pradesh Congress ahead of Assembly elections next year, its candidate Nilanshu Chaturvedi on Sunday won Chitrakoot bypoll defeating his BJP rival Shankar Dayal Tripathi by a margin of around 14,135 votes. The Chitrakoot Assembly seat fell vacant after Congress MLA Prem Singh, who had won the seat three times, died in May this year. Singh had won the Chitrakoot Assembly seat in 1998, 2003 and 2013, losing to BJP’s Surendra Singh Gaharwar in 2008.

BJP MP Nand Kumar Chauhan was quoted by ANI as saying, “We fought in Chitrakoot to win but did not succeed… as per the counting pattern, it seems Congress will win” but added that the Chitrakoot results are not reflective of the mood of the state.

With the Assembly election in Madhya Pradesh likely to take place in November next year, the results of the Chitrakoot bypoll hold significance for both the BJP and the Congress. Voting for the Chitrakoot Assembly bypoll took place on November 9 with the constituency recording almost 65 per cent voter turnout.

As many as 257 polling booths with VVPAT (Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail) machines were set up for the bypoll, said an Election Commission official. Congress MP from Guna Jyotiraditya Scindia, former Union Minister Kamal Nath, Leader of Opposition in Madhya Pradesh Assembly Ajay Singh campaigned for Nilanshu Chaturvedi.

Show More

Related Articles


Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker