Arvind Kejriwal to be sworn in as Delhi CM on Saturday

New Delhi: Arvind Kejriwal will take oath as Delhi’s seventh Chief Minister on Saturday at historic Ramlila Maidan, the venue of Anna Hazare’s anti-corruption movement.
A Magsaysay award winner, 45-year-old Kejriwal and six other AAP MLAs will be sworn-in in a public ceremony at 12 PM to which Anna Hazare, Kiran Bedi, Santosh Hegde and all those associated with the anti-corruption movement will be invited.
The date for the swearing-in ceremony was finalised at a meeting Kejriwal held with Chief Secretary D M Spolia.

The cabinet ministers to take oath along with Kejriwal are Manish Sisodia, Rakhi Birla, Somnath Bharti, Saurabh Bhardwaj, Girish Soni and Satendra Jain.
Kejriwal asserted that AAP has not firmed up an alliance with Congress as the support given by it was based on its 18-point agenda. There has been dissenting voices in Congress over support to AAP.

He indicated that a number of announcements will be made on fulfilling key promises of the party like cutting power tariff and ordering auditing of the private power distribution companies immediately after assuming charge.

A day after Laxmi Nagar MLA Binny, a ministerial aspirant, walked out of a meeting at Kejriwal’s house after coming to know that he was not among the probable ministers, Kejriwal said the legislator was not interested in a ministerial berth.

“Binny came to me last evening. He told me he does not want a ministerial berth and that he was here for a mission. Binny said he has conveyed to the media that he was not upset,” said Kejriwal.

Binny, on his part, stated that he was not angry and that there was no rift in the party. “There is no rift between me and the party. There is nothing that I was angry about after being denied a post in the ministry,” he said.

Kejriwal had met Lt Governor Najeeb Jung on Monday and handed over him a letter staking claim to form government with outside support from the Congress.

Following this, Jung had sent a proposal to President Pranab Mukherjee detailing AAP’s stake to form the government. The President approved the proposal on Tuesday and left it to the Lt Governor to finalise the date for swearing-in ceremony in consultation with the Chief Minister-designate.

A press release issued by Delhi Government said the President has directed that Kejriwal be asked to prove his majority on the floor of the House within seven days from the date on which he takes oath of office.

“The President of India has been pleased to appoint Arvind Kejriwal, Leader of the Aam Aadmi Legislature Party as Chief Minister of the National Capital Territory of Delhi with effect from the date he is sworn in,” it said.

It said the President has also appointed Sisodia, Bharti, Jain, Birla, Soni and Bhardwaj to be the Ministers with effect from the date they are sworn in.

One-year-old AAP had made an electrifying debut in elections winning 28 seats in the 70-member Assembly and decimating Congress which bagged only eight seats. The BJP, along with its ally SAD’s one seat, had 32 MLAs but the party declined to form the government, citing lack of majority.

Comments are Closed